Tears of Dionysius is an ambitious, innovative and provocative artwork that combines the modern musical language of Lars Graugaard’s score for 18 players and reciter with Thomas Hejlesen’s film of edited, long forgotten erotic scenes. The text is poetic settings of key concepts from Friedrich Nietzsche’s Geburt der Tragödie.

The work treats in 13 scenes the history and destined nature of modern man’s sexuality. Present society has a growing obsession with sexuality and its integration into all kinds of commercial and everyday contexts. This suggests a liberation of ideals and manners in a radical act of self-realization, which is nevertheless false and contrived. Tears of Dionysius is a reaction to this fact.

The DVD version – which can be ordered from this site – differs from the live version, even though the music and narrated texts are the same.

Music – Lars Graugaard
Film – Thomas Hejlesen
Narrator – Stina Ekblad
Conductor – Gudni Franzson
Performers – CAPUT Ensemble
Concept – Thomas Hejlesen, Willie Flindt and Lars Graugaard
Assistant – Ninna Steen
Producer – von Heiduck

This production is supported by the Danish Composers' Society's Production Pool/KODA's Fund for Social and Cultural Purposes and KODA's Collective Blank Tape Remuneration. Source material for the film consists of anonymous black and white movies from 1920 to 1940. The video material contains graphic images that may seem offensive.